Skip to main content

Public Affairs Council Elects Mary Moore Hamrick as 2022-23 Chair

By October 26, 2022November 4th, 2022Uncategorized
[vntd_hero_section images=”52277″ heading_dynamic=”Press Release” subtitle=”” button1_label=”” bg_overlay=”dark_blue” height=”custom” height_custom=”400″ tooltips=”%5B%7B%22tooltip_title%22%3A%22Hello%20there!%22%2C%22tooltip_url%22%3A%22%23%22%2C%22tooltip_placement%22%3A%22top%22%2C%22tooltip_depth%22%3A%220.42%22%7D%5D”]

October 26, 2022

Contact: Laura Horsley
Senior Director of Marketing and Communications
202.787.5963 | [email protected]

Washington, DC – The Public Affairs Council elected Mary Moore Hamrick of the George W. Bush Institute as its 2022-23 chair during its Fall Board Meeting in Los Angeles last week.

Hamrick brings over 30 years of leadership and experience in business and government, delivering results in legal, regulatory, policy and legislative strategy. She is currently the Don Evans Family Managing Director of Domestic Policy at the George W. Bush Institute and serves on the Board of Advisors for the Frank Hawkins Kenan Institute of Private Enterprise at the University of North Carolina. Prior to her current roles, Hamrick served as the CEO of Political Quotient Advisors and chief public policy officer for Grant Thornton.

As chair, Hamrick’s priorities include:

  • Expand the Council’s trainings and thought leadership on environmental, social and governance (ESG) matters and other forms of stakeholder engagement.
  • Communicate the value of public affairs to business audiences, including MBA programs and Boards of Directors.
  • Produce unique, high-value polling and issue analysis information of interest to the public affairs and business communities, as well as the political media.

“Mary Moore’s skills as a strategist in public policy and external relations, along with her wide experience working with C-suite leaders, will help the Council grow in size and influence,” said Public Affairs Council President Doug Pinkham.

The Council also honored its Volunteers of the Year: Bethany Nadeau Dame, assistant vice president of political engagement and grassroots with the American Property Casualty Insurance Association, and Adrienne Marks, PAC director, U.S. government engagement, with Visa. “Bethany and Adrienne are dedicated volunteers who lead by example,” said Pinkham. “Both are frequent speakers at executive education events, have served as mentors, and have completed Council certificate programs.”

In addition, the Council announced the 2022-23 Executive Committee and Board of Directors. New Executive Committee members are:

Chair: Mary Moore Hamrick, Don Evans Family managing director of domestic policy, George W.   Bush Institute; Board of Advisors member, Frank Hawkins Kenan Institute of Private Enterprise at the University of North Carolina

Chair-Elect: Roi Ewell, principal, Ewell & Associates, LLC

Treasurer: Genna Gent, vice president of global public policy and government relations,
McDonald’s Corporation

First Vice Chair: Courtney Geduldig, global head of public and government affairs,
Micron Technology, Inc.

Vice Chairs:
Stephanie Childs, executive vice president of corporate relations, Diageo North America

Jeff Mascott, Chairman, Adfero

Ellie Shaw, director of federal government affairs, American Express Company

At-Large members:

*Nneka Chiazor, vice president of government and public affairs, Cox Communications Inc.

Greg Crist, chief advocacy officer and head of external affairs, Advanced Medical Technology Association

John Galligan, general manager, global public affairs, Microsoft

Molly Njeru Ryan, vice president of government affairs and policy, Global Blood Therapeutics (Pfizer)

*Makini Nyanteh, senior vice president and chief communications officer, American Institutes for Research

Scott Orr, vice president of government relations and public affairs, Fidelity Investments

Erin Streeter, executive vice president, National Association of Manufacturers

Past chair: Karen Himle, senior vice president of corporate and government affairs
Thrivent Financial

President: Doug Pinkham, president, Public Affairs Council

*indicates new Executive Committee member

View the Council’s Executive Committee.
View the Council’s Board of Directors.

About the Public Affairs Council
Both nonpartisan and nonpolitical, the Public Affairs Council is the leading association for public affairs professionals worldwide. The Council’s mission is to advance the field of public affairs and to provide its 700 member companies, associations and other nonprofits with the executive education and expertise they need to succeed while maintaining the highest ethical standards.