Skip to main content


Get recognized for the important work you do

The Public Affairs Council celebrates the work and contributions of leading individuals and organizations as they help advance the profession. 

Public Affairs Innovation Awards

The Innovation Awards recognize excellence in promoting advocacy programs and campaigns in the following categories:

  • Grassroots Innovation
  • Communications Innovation
  • Engagement Strategy Innovation

Presented at The Advocacy Conference each year, the Innovation Awards honor outstanding initiatives that showcase creativity, inclusiveness, innovation and organizational relevance.

TAC Awards Winner 2023
Past Innovation Award Winners

Innovation Award Winners

TAC Award Winners 2023

2023 Innovation Awards Winners
Grassroots Innovation: Feeding America
Communications Innovation: AAA – Auto Club Group
Lobbying Innovation: Community Associations Institute

2022 Innovation Awards Winners
Grassroots Innovation: Vot-ER
Communications Innovation: National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI)
Lobbying Innovation: Cruise Lines International Association (CLIA)

2021 Innovation Awards Winners
Grassroots Innovation: Toyota
Communications Innovation: American Hospital Association
Lobbying Innovation: American Physical Therapy Association

Outstanding PAC Awards

The Outstanding PAC Awards recognize excellence in the following categories:

  • Outstanding Association PAC
  • Outstanding Corporate PAC

The Outstanding PAC awards honor campaigns and programs with innovative approaches to enhancing PAC involvement. These awards, presented at the National PAC Conference each year, celebrate initiatives that showcase creativity and effectiveness in promoting increased financial or member engagement in the PAC.

Past PAC Award Winners

Outstanding PAC Award Winners

2023 Outstanding PAC Award Winners:
Association Winner: Ohio Corn & Wheat Growers Association PAC (OCWGA-PAC)
Corporate Winner: Home Depot PAC

2022 Outstanding PAC Award Winners:
Association Winner: American Academy of Ophthalmology (OPHTHPAC)
Corporate Winner: Sempra (SEEPAC)

2021 Outstanding PAC Award Winners:
Association Winner: American Society of Anesthesiologists PAC (ASAPAC)
Corporate Winner: Dell PAC

Volunteer of the Year

Each year, the Public Affairs Council recognizes an individual from a member organization who has made an outstanding contribution not only to our association but to the public affairs profession.

Read more

The Council staff will annually nominate candidates (excluding board members) and present a short list to the Council’s Executive Committee who will then vote for the winner. The Volunteer of the Year will win an all-expenses-paid trip to the Fall Board Meeting, where he or she will receive the award before senior-level executives and peers.

In creating the short list of nominees, Council staff are looking for members with a consistent record of involvement at the Council. Ideal candidates would have taken part in many of the following activities:

• Joining one or more of our networks: Political Involvement, International, Social Impact, Government Relations or Professional Development

• Participating in conferences as a speaker, attendee, advisory committee member and/or advocate for others attending

• Donating resources to our virtual resource library in Council Connect

• Participating in surveys and encouraging others to take part

• Providing advice and counsel to other members

• Assisting with member recruitment and retention

Nominations for the next Volunteer of the Year will begin in June.

For further information, contact Senior Director Caryn Seligman at 202.787.5966 / email.

Volunteer of the Year Winners

John Mason
Senior Director, Federal Government Affairs

Bethany Nadeau Dame
Vice President, Political Engagement & Grassroots
American Property Casualty Insurance Association

Adrienne Marks
PAC Director
Visa Inc.

Sarah Yi
Director, External Affairs
CTIA – The Wireless Association

Jennifer Brooks
Manager of Government Relations & PAC Manager
Northrop Grumman

Brandy Stacks
Director, Government Affairs
Prudential Financial, Inc.

Patti Murphy
Manager, Federal Government Affairs
BNSF Railway

Susan Francis
PAC and Grassroots Manager
Duke Energy

Heidi Ann Ecker
Director of Government Affairs & Grassroots Programs
National Association of Chain Drug Stores

Kate Fry
Associate Director of Political Affairs
American Association of Nurse Anesthetists

Heather Cutler
Director of Federal and Political Advocacy
CVS Caremark Corp.

 Corey Henry
Vice President, Communications
American Frozen Food Institute

Molly Nichelson
Senior Specialist, Grassroots Outreach
American College of Cardiology

Shannon Bearinger
Senior Business Information Analyst
Nationwide Insurance

 Ellie Shaw
Director of Federal Government Affairs
American Express

Leadership Circle

The Public Affairs Leadership Circle recognizes Public Affairs Council members who promote ethics and integrity in the field of public affairs by supporting the only nonprofit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to advancing the profession.

Learn More

Our member contributions are fundamental to the development of Public Affairs Council and Foundation for Public Affairs programs and research, which are valued by the public affairs community.

We couldn’t fulfill our mission without your continued support.

Organizations that contribute $25,000 or more in one calendar year to the Public Affairs Council and/or the Foundation for Public Affairs automatically become members of the Public Affairs Leadership Circle.

Contributions can take the form of:


All Public Affairs Leadership Circle honorees receive the following recognition:

  • Presentation of the Public Affairs Leadership Circle award at our annual Spring Board meeting, which is attended by senior-level public affairs executives
  • Recognition on the Council’s website
  • Three complimentary registrations to any of the Council’s training programs (excluding the Public Affairs Institute).

For further information on the Public Affairs Leadership Circle, contact Senior Director Caryn Seligman at 202.787.5966 / email.

Leadership Circle Members





Caryn Seligman
Senior Director
202.787.5966 | [email protected]

Featured Event

Covering emerging issues affecting local, state and federal government relations professionals, expand your network while getting answers to your toughest policy questions.

Washington, D.C. | Sept. 25-27